When the minimum wage was implemented under the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, workers received $.025 per hour. It increased to $1.00 in 1956. Twenty years later the minimum wage went to $2.30. As of July 2009, the wage now stands at $7.25.
The following states pay ABOVE minimum wage:
Washington $8.55; California, Illinois & Massachusetts $8.00; Vermont $8.06; Oregon $8.40; Rhode Island & Michigan $7.40; Maine & New Mexico $7.50; Ohio $7.30; Colorado $7.28; District of Columbia $8.25
These states pay BELOW minimum wage:
Arkansas $6.25; Wyoming $5.15; Georgia $5.15; Minnesota $6.15; Kansas $2.65
There are 7.7 million workers who hold down more than one job.
Obviously you can understand why with minimum wage not keeping up with today's cost of living.
**Statistics provided by the U.S. Department of Labor**